Sitting, Waiting, Wishing

My transcript requests are officially en route to their respective registrars and all I can do is wait and hope that everything goes to plan. Apparently there are already a few gunner premed folks out there who had their transcripts already being analyzed by AMCAS the day after it opened up. I’m going about this as quickly as possible and I’m still impressed and a little disgusted.

I haven’t finished filling in the application yet, mostly because I’ve been stuck without reliable internet access for the last few days during the Peace Corps semi-annual interservice training session. We’ve been spending time in the south of the country learning about malaria initiatives and educational material for the formation of female run care groups. A lot of the information doesn’t exactly apply to me since I’m living in a larger city where small group networking is below the scope of my project. It’s been interesting, though, and wonderful to see the other health volunteers in my training group.

I can report on the first AMCAS section (1 of 9) called IDENTIFYING INFORMATION. This section is very self-explanatory. You fill out names, former names, ID numbers, addresses, each undergraduate college, and generate transcript request forms which you can print out to send to specific colleges. Pretty straightforward. I started the BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION section (2 of 9), but haven’t yet completed it. So far I’ve filled out where I was born and my parents’ names and educational background. I’ll post as soon as it’s completed with more information about the whole ‘disadvantaged’ decision and implications.

One thing I want to mention is that AMCAS is not supported by Chrome, the browser I’ve been using since getting my netbook last year. I find this very frustrating and had resigned myself to using an old version of firefox for the app. However, my friend Christine, another PCV in Cambodia, sent me this link to add an Internet Explorer tab to your Chrome interface. Now you can work on your AMCAS app in the lovely comforts of Chrome. Best idea ever! Enjoy!

I know quite a few people who have already finished filling in the app, but I also have friends who have yet to complete their personal statement. Luckily we all have until June 1st to get our stories straight and logged in. I’m taking my time and rather like a nerd, enjoy savoring the experience. I know that once I submit, and especially after secondaries are turned in, this whole process will turn into a giant waiting game where I want to rip my hair out. Right now, I am only sitting in my hotel room, waiting on myself and the registrars, and wishing that I had a cold diet coke. What more can I do?

Now I was sitting waiting wishing
That you believed in superstitions
Then maybe you’d see the signs
But Lord knows that this world is cruel
And I ain’t the Lord, no I’m just a fool
Learning loving somebody don’t make them love you

Leave a Reply

