Tofu Meatball Sub

The other day I discovered a magical combination. Soy cheese (what they call tofu here) on a sandwich. I know it sounds simple, but with tomato sauce, onions, tomatoes, and other random African greenery it tasted like a delicious vegetarian meatball sub sandwich.

don't wear white

This was super easy to make even here in my little ghetto African kitchen.

Ingredients:

2 oz tofu

4 cherry tomatoes

1 small onion

one bunch of fotay (like spinach)

1 tbsp of tomato paste

some vegetable oil

water

spices

baguette or sub sandwich bread

 

Sauté the fotay and onion until saturated in the vegetable oil. Add the water, tomato paste, tofu and tomatoes. Stir until it reaches desired thickness. Add spices (salt, pepper, cumin, thyme, etc) and take off the heat. Slice open baguette bread and spoon the thickened tomato tofu sauce inside. If available, layer with sliced swiss cheese. Enjoy!

Man, I wish I had some cheese. Despite that absence, this sandwich was fantastic and made me feel like I was in America. Anytime I can do that, I count it as a success. Winning!

Leave a Reply

