Pentecost Tofu Burgers

I spent the weekend without internet access and due to the holiday around here, was sans internet for four days. In order to occupy myself and prevent the “omg, has my application been verified yet” crazies, I decided to go on a quest for vegetarian friendly burgers here in the middle of nowhere, West Africa. And, boy, was I ever successful. I’m thinking about adding it into the Work/Activities section*. This is totally what I do when I’m stressed. Create epic dinners. Or go for a run, which is probably healthier, but c’est la vie. I mean, LOOK at these burgers!

looks like america

Ingredients, patty:

4 oz tofu cubes, firm

1/2 c oatmeal

1 small egg

1 tbsp chopped onions

2 tbsp vegetable oil

cumin to taste

seasoning salt

salt and pepper to taste

Ingredients, fixin’s:

baguette or soft bread

lettuce

tomato

onion

ketchup

mustard

ingredients for a champion burger

it doesn't look pretty but it's full of awesome

The first step is to mash up all the tofu into the spices until the little pieces are totally squished and coated in the flavors. To that add the chopped onion and oil and mix well. Crack the egg in the mixture and mix until a thick consistency. If needed, add more oatmeal until the mix is basically your typical patty thickness.

fry 'em up

After it’s all mixed up, roll them into golf-ball sized balls and smash them down onto the skillet. I dashed some oil and salt in there and fried them up within a few minutes. The recipe makes about 3 patties.

toasty and amaaaazing

While those are going (or earlier if you only have one pan and are frying everything on a tiny ghetto stove), lightly toast the baguette bread with some brushed on oil or butter if you’re a fat cat in America. Put the patty on top and oogle in awe.

Then, all you gotta do is top it off with your favorites. I go with lettuce, tomato, onion, ketchup, mustard. These burgers were moist and flavorful and probably the best thing I’ve tasted in a long time. In fact, I wish I had one right now. It might take my mind off the fact that I am STILL not verified, even though all my transcripts are in and everything should be good to go. As long as it’s verified by the 17th, I’ll be in the first round of applications that go out. So…that’s 3 days. Oh man oh man. I think I’m going to try to make something else totally epic to take my mind off the wait. Pizza? I think yes.

*I cannot change the Work/Activities section after submitting. I know this, don’t be a jerk.

Edit: I just realized my co-applicant buddy over at The Clumsy cook recently blogged about homemade black bean burgers. Coincidence?

Leave a Reply

