Stir Fry Djougou Style

So most Peace Corps Volunteers don’t have the kind of wonderful access to fresh fruits and vegetables that I have being in a bigger city. I’ve been thinking for a while that I needed to take advantage of my relative luck and make something colorful and healthy.

egglant, cabbage, carrots, green peppers, onions, sugar snap peas, tomatoes, tofu

 

 

I went to the marketplace and picked up all my supplies. I then washed everything and chopped it all up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

probably enough for two people...

First I cooked up the onions and peppers in some oil then I added all the rest of the veggies and tofu, holding off on the tomatoes until everything else was hot. I added salt and pepper and curry powder as well. Lots of curry powder. Then I added the magic ingredient of any good Peace Corps Benin volunteer, the Maggie cube. The Maggie cube is basically a bouillon cube, full of flavor, the answer to any good woman’s cooking woes. I then threw all those tomatoes in and made sure everything was cooked through.

djougou stir fry ftw!

 

Then, I ate it. Because it was so freaking delicious. It probably would have been really awesome with some long grained or Basmati rice.

 

 

 

 

So, there you go. Read ’em and weep, villagers. Or better yet, don’t lose hope, applicants. You could definitely end up in a great city like Djougou where the possibility of eating healthier than you did in America is very real.

 

 

And related, have I mentioned that I STILL am not verified? Cuz I’m not.

Leave a Reply

