Taking a Deep Breath

I think I overreacted a bit today, but ultimately putting my accounts on private and locking my twitter was probably a good thing. I’ll probably link them back up again after the admissions season; I really don’t want anything I do or say online to have a negative impact during this process. I thought I had a clean online identity, but you never know. Better to be safe than sorry.

So with that out of the way, I just wanted to say that I will probably be using this blog more and more instead of my Peace Corps blog. This blog then will just be a general chronicalling of my life: Peace Corps, med school, wedding planning, general thoughts on food and life and style, etc. I’ve been trying to consolidate things for a while now anyway. I’ll think about changing the title, but I think it still works for now. The med school process is still the main thing in my life and there’s a lot of hoping that goes into that, thus HOPE MD is still a good title. We’ll see.

I think I will rather unapologetically continue to focus on food. I love to cook, I love to bake, and these things are massive stress relievers for me which I definitely need lately. So I’ll take photos, post the recipes here, and invite the world to comment and participate. I think I’m going to experiment more with gluten free foods; I’ve been avoiding carbohydrates in an attempt to lose weight and I’ve found that a lot of the symptoms that I thought were related to lactose intolerance have faded to a SEVERE degree, leading me to think I might be more gluten senstitive than I thought. It’s also just healthier in general to avoid massive carbo overload. I’m already very close to vegan as it is; I still have the occasionally yogurt or cheese item, but other than that, I am practically vegan. In the states, it’ll be even easier. I think I’ll go completely vegan as a trial run when I’m home for med school interviews in October.

And with that, I’m going to go home and try to copy a recipe from my friend over at The Clumsy Cook for easy, gluten free peanut butter cookies. I’m not sure how well it’ll work with my little dutch oven, but I’ll be sure to post my success or failure story later and with pics (and no profanity!!).

I’ll be filling out secondary apps this weekend when I go down to the country’s capital to pick up my new computer cord and I’ll let y’all know how that goes.

Take it easy,

E

Leave a Reply

