A Summer Update (and a cupcake, too!)

As of this posting I have officially applied to 6 schools, been rejected by one, and withdrew from two. I have three more secondary requests in my inbox that I’m going to finish up today…and then I’m just waiting on three more to get back to me. Whew! It’s definitely a long process.

I can’t believe I’ve already gotten one rejection. I mean, I WAS out of state for the public school there…and my numbers ARE extremely mediocre…but dang. It definitely hurts so early in the game. I’m keeping my spirits positive though. It wasn’t even a top choice of mine so all is good in the world.

In other news, I have no excuses for not being completely finished with the secondaries I’ve received. My committee letter is turned in and the only thing holding me back now is me. Well, and my intense summer schedule. I’ve been going all over the country for girls’ empowerment camps and have a really cool science camp coming up in a couple weeks. In the meantime I’m just going to try to breathe, do some baking, get some work done at the office, and play with Zaari. This summer is going by so fast! I can’t believe it’s almost the end of July already!

So without further ado, here is the amazing, the wonderful, the delicious:

gluten free coconut peanut cupcake with chilled brown sugar coconut icing

ahhh it's good to be alive

Ingredients for the coconut peanut cupcake:

(“cup” refers to a two ounce mini cup)

2 1/2 “cup” gluten free flours (I used 1 c oatmeal, 1 c corn flour, and 1/2 c “gari”, a thin, tapioca like powder)

1/4 tsp salt

1 “cup” sugar

3/4 “cup” brown sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp peanut oil

1 “cup” margarine (or butter if you’re crazy)

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/4 “cup” milk 

1 small egg white (or half the egg if you want the yolk…weirdo)

1 tsp finely crushed peanuts

1/2 tsp fresh grated coconut

Ingredients for the chilled brown sugar coconut icing:

1 “cup” brown sugar

1 “cup” margarine or butter

1/2 “cup” chilled evaporated milk (non sweetened)

1/2 “cup” sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp fresh grated coconut

Grease and lightly flour the baking tin (I used margarine and sprinkled with dry oats). Turn on the fire underneath the dutch oven (or set a fancy American oven to like 350 degrees I’d guess). Cream together the flours, margarine, baking soda, salt, milk, and sugars until soft and smooth. Add the peanut oil and egg whites, beating well afterward. Add the vanilla, coconut, and crushed peanuts and mix under just combined. Pour the mix into the cupcake tin (about 2/3 of the way full) and bake until the edges are browned and fluffed up and pull away slightly from the tin. The center of the cupcake should spring back slightly when touched and a fork comes out clean.

fluffy gluten free deliciousness in an old tomato paste can; classy.

Let cool completely and then use a knife to dislodge as carefully as possible from the sides of the tin. It will be a little more crumbly than a cake made with wheat flour.

To make the icing:

Whip the evaporated milk in a chilled bowl until it begins to get thick. Add the margarine and sugars and mix until thick and creamy. Fold in the grated coconut and vanilla and chill in the freezer for ten minutes before icing the cooled cupcake.

a little peanut butter in the frosting would have been perfect

Eat immediately!

hold me closer, tiny cake

SOOOO GOOD. I wish I had another one right now!

Well, that’s all for now. I’ll probably update again while I’m still at the workstation. I’ve got a formation with my ONG here; we’re meeting with all our local partners to talk about successes and failures during the last year and I’m in charge of taking minutes. Oh, joy! At least I’ll try to find some time to bake something in a REAL OVEN while I’m here. Got any good easy, gluten-free ideas? Pass ’em along.

Keep it classy!

Leave a Reply

