Tiramisu Cheesecake Cupcakes!

I don’t actually have time for a post right now about my life (everything is wonderful, wedding is in 4 weeks, marathon was a success, I have an amazing temporary job, we’re moving to a great apartment soon, my new baby sister is perfect, I have some VERY exciting med school news, etc etc), but I promise I will soon!

I’ll leave you with a little teaser (I have been a veeerrrry busy little baker lately). Let it ease your annoyance at my absence (although I’m sure my two readers have already lost interest at this point lol).

These are super easy, but taste like they came from a wicked fancy Italiano ristorante! Enjoy!

Tiramisu Cheesecake Cupcakes

Not my pic but close enough

Serves: 30

Total time: 50 min

Prep time: 25 min 

 

Ingredients:

60 vanilla wafers (Nilla Wafers are the crispest, although off-brand would work)

5 tsp instant coffee (Nescafe works the best)

3 Tbsp hot water

32 oz cream cheese (softened at room temperature)

1 cup granulated sugar

8 oz sour cream (I used light sour cream, but full flavor would probably taste richer)

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 eggs (or 2 eggs and 3 egg whites)

8 oz cool whip (thawed…I used low fat; usually I make my own whipped cream, but it doesn’t hold its shape which we need for  that thicker tiramisu topping)

2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (I used unsweetened dark cocoa powder for that bitter kick)

¼ cup mini chocolate chips (I used regular sized, but minis would be way cuter!)

 

Directions:

1.      Preheat oven to 325. Line 30 cupcake tins with liners and put one vanilla wafer at the bottom of each cup.

2.      In a large bowl, beat cream cheese and sugar on medium speed until well blended. Add sour cream and vanilla, mix well. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing on low speed after each one, until just blended, scraping often.

3.      In a small bowl, dissolve 3 tsps coffee granules in 1 Tbsp hot water. Remove 3 ½ cups of cheesecake batter, put in medium bowl. Stir in dissolved coffee until well blended.

4.      In small bowl, dissolve remaining 2 tsp coffee granules in remaining 2 Tbsp hot water.

5.      Lightly brush each vanilla wafer with the coffee (using a marinade brush; drips from a teaspoon would also work), just enough to moisten the entire cookie.

6.      Evenly divide coffee-flavored batter over wafers, smooth evenly across the cookie and make sure to spread it to the sides of the liner as the batter will cook in the position you leave it in!

7.      Place another layer of vanilla wafer on top of the coffee batter and brush with the dissolved coffee mixture.

8.      Evenly divide the remaining plain cheesecake batter over the wafers and smooth evenly across the cookies to the edges of the liner.

9.      Bake 25-30 minutes, until the edges are slightly puffed up.

10.  Cool to room temperature. Spoon Cool Whip (thawed, not chunky at all) over each cheesecake and dust with cocoa powder. Sprinkle mini chocolate chips over that. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours (overnight was perfect).

11.   Store in refrigerator.

12.   Enjoy with iced or hot coffee to bring out all the flavors! Extra points for straight espresso. : )

Mine got eaten so fast I didn’t even have time to snap a photo!

Leave a Reply

